Jump to Navigation
Jump to Content

Environmental Law. Disrupted.

January 2019

Citation: 49 ELR 10038

Issue: 1

Author: Inara Scott, David Takacs, Rebecca Bratspies, Vanessa Casado Pérez, Robin Kundis Craig, Keith Hirokawa, Blake Hudson, Sarah Krakoff, Katrina Fischer Kuh, Jessica Owley, Melissa Powers, Shannon Roesler, Jonathan Rosenbloom, J.B. Ruhl, and Erin Ryan

The U.S. regulatory environment is changing rapidly, at the same time that visible and profound impacts of climate change are already being felt throughout the world, and enormous, potentially existential threats loom in the not-so-distant future. What does it mean to think about and practice environmental law in this setting? In this Article, members of the Environmental Law Collaborative have taken on the question of whether environmental law as we currently know it is up to the job of addressing these threats, and, if not, what the path forward should be.

Inara Scott is the Gomo Family Professor and Assistant Dean for Teaching and Learning Excellence at Oregon State University College of Business. David Takacs is a Professor of Law at University of California Hastings College of the Law. Rebecca Bratspies is a Professor of Law at City University of New York School of Law and the Founding Director of the Center for Urban Environmental Reform. Vanessa Casado Pérez is an Associate Professor of Law and Research Associate Professor of Agricultural Economics at Texas A&M University School of Law. Robin Kundis Craig is the James I. Farr Presidential Endowed Professor of Law at University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law. Keith Hirokawa is a Professor of Law at Albany Law School. Jonathan Rosenbloom is the Dwight D. Opperman Distinguished Professor of Law at Drake University Law School. Blake Hudson is the A.L. O’Quinn Chair in Environmental Studies and Professor of Law at University of Houston Law Center. Sarah Krakoff is the Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Moses Lasky Professor of Law at University of Colorado Law School. Shannon Roesler is a Professor of Law at Oklahoma City University School of Law. Katrina Fischer Kuh is the Haub Distinguished Professor of Environmental Law at Elisabeth Haub School of Law at Pace University. Jessica Owley is a Professor at University at Buffalo School of Law. Melissa Powers is the Jeffrey Bain Faculty Scholar and Professor of Law and Director at the Lewis & Clark Law School Green Energy Institute. J.B. Ruhl is the David Daniels Allen Distinguished Chair of Law, Director of the Program on Law and Innovation, and Co-Director of Energy, Environment, and Land Use Program at Vanderbilt Law School. Erin Ryan is the Elizabeth C. & Clyde W. Atkinson Professor of Law at Florida State University College of Law. 

Download Article >>>