Jump to Navigation
Jump to Content

Colorado Pub. Interest Research Group v. Train

Citation: 5 ELR 20043
No. No. 74-1154, 507 F.2d 743/7 ERC 1177/(10th Cir., 12/09/1974) Rev'd & remanded

The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals reverses a lower court decision and holds that, under the FWPCA Amendments of 1972, the EPA Administrator is charged with the duty of regulating all discharges of radioactive materials into navigable waters. The congressional intent to this effect is clearly manifested in the statutory language, and there is therefore no need to resort to an examination of the inconclusive legislative history. EPA's contention that regulation of discharges of "by-product materials," "source material," and "special nuclear material" is vested exclusively in the Atomic Energy Commission by the Atomic Energy Act of 1954 is mistaken, since the 1972 FWPCA Amendments overruled any inconsistent provisions in existing laws. The trial court thus erred in granting summary judgment to defendants in this action which seeks to compel the EPA Administrator to regulate the discharge of such materials into navigable waters. In view of its remand of the case, the circuit court declines to rule on the lower court's denial of plaintiffs' request for atorney fees.

Counsel for Plaintiffs
James L. Kurtz-Phelan
209 16th Street, Room 200
Denver, Colo. 80202

David Mastbaum
1430 Larimer Square, Suite 401
Denver, Colo. 80202

David E. Engdahl
4375 Butler Circle
Boulder, Colo. 80303

Counsel for Defendants
Wallace H. Johnson Asst. Attorney General
Dirk D. Snel
Edmund B. Clark
Michael D. Graves
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

James L. Treece U.S. Attorney
William K. Hickey Asst. U.S. Attorney
U.S. Courthouse
Denver, Colo. 80202

Counsel for Amici Curiae States of Arkansas, Kansas, Michigan, Washington, and Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
Jim Guy Tucker Attorney General

Frederick L. Frawley Asst. Attorney General
Justice Building
Little Rock, Ark. 72201

Frank J. Kelley Attorney General
S. David Kutinsky
Stewart H. Freeman Asst. Attorneys General
The Law Building
525 W. Ottawa Street
Lansing, Mich. 48913

Slade Gorton Attorney General
Charles B. Roe, Jr. Senior Asst. Attorney General
Temple of Justice
Olympia, Wash. 98501

Vern Miller Attorney General
William H. Ward
State Capitol Building
Topeka, Kan. 66612

William M. Eichbaum Dep. Sec. for Enforcement and Gen. Counsel
Penn. Dept. of Environmental Resources
709 Health & Welfare Building
Harrisburg, Pa. 17120

Counsel for Amici Curiae State of Minnesota and the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
Warren Spannaus Attorney General
Peter W. Sipkins Solicitor General
Eldon G. Kaul Special Asst. Attorney General
102 State Capitol
St. Paul, Minn. 55155